Album Review: Living on Bread and Circus by Cara Tower

Album Name: Living on Bread and Circus
Artist: Cara Tower
Year/Label: 2001 / Raw Dog Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Cara Tower writes intriguing songs and accompanies herself on guitar and various homemade instruments.

She approaches subjects like dysfunctional youths and Joan of Arc. It makes for a compelling listen since Cara Tower has such a good way with words and music.

Highlights include the bluesy, sinister “She comes from an ordinary family” and the lovely “Come to me”.

This is modern folk music for people who value intelligent lyrics and arresting melodies.

Posted on December 18, 2001

Track Listing
1. Raw Dog
2. Summer Always Comes
3. Dear Jane
4. Living on Bread and Circus
5. Infinitely Inseparable
6. No One Suspected
7. Come to Me
8. She Comes From an Ordinary Family
9. As Real as the Breath
10. La Pucelle
11. As We Are Visit Cara Tower’s Official Site

[ Cara Tower Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.