Album Review: Long Night Moon by Catie Curtis

Album Name: Long Night Moon
Artist: Catie Curtis
Year/Label: 2006 / Compass Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I have been aware of Catie Curtis for some time. In fact, I saw her live once, opening for Dar Williams. I enjoyed her very much. She told great stories and I liked her songs. But I guess it didn’t impress me enough to go out and seek her music and purchase it. I don’t know why. Because I am listening to this record and I absolutely love it. Music is like that for me. It has to meet me at the right time.

She is everything I love about folk music: intelligent lyrics, lovely and interesting melodies, professional musicianship, and a great soothing, comfortable voice.

This is one of those records that feels like a friend. If that doesn’t make sense to you then I don’t know what else to say.

People Look Around make me cry.

I can’t compare it to her other releases and I don’t want to compare it too much to other artists though I will say that if you like Shawn Colvin, Dar Williams and other folkies like them you must get this.

Posted on September 27, 2006

Track Listing
1. Find You Now
2. Strange
3. Water and Stone
4. It’s a Wonder
5. Rope Swings and Avalanches
6. People Look Around
7. Innocent
8. Passing Through
9. Hey California
10. New Flowers
11. Hard Time with Goodbyes
12. Long Night Moon

[Catie Curtis Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.