Album Review: Lovers and Losers by Alice Lee

Album Name: Lovers and Losers
Artist: Alice Lee
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

When I reviewed her previous release, The Art of Forgetting, I mentioned that she sounded a bit off key at times. I am happy to say I don’t hear that on this release at all. She’s also stepped up the electronica a bit more.

“A New Bruise” is captivating. It’s almost a dirge and has got slightly dissonant keyboard parts at times.

“Perfect Girl” is much more pop/radio friendly. But still not Top 40 (thank goodness).

“Gloria” reminds me of Björk’s subtler stuff. Very cool.

“Retrograde heart” has some cool piano. “Heroin” sounds bluesy.

Check out this music that is a little edgy and a little weird with some unique sounds.

Posted on May 11, 2005

Track Listing
1. A New Bruise
2. How Will I Be Now?
3. Perfect Girl
4. Friendly Fire
5. I Breathe
6. Retrograde Heart
7. Heroin
8. Gloria
9. Last Night
10. Going Home
11. No Idea
12. Hard To Forget

[Alice Lee Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.