Album Review: Loves Me, Loves Me Not by Kat Maxwell

Album Name: Loves Me, Loves Me Not
Artist: Kat Maxwell
Year/Label: 2008 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I reviewed Kat Maxwell’s previous album, One Day in 2004. I didn’t love her voice but I thought it went well with the music. Now, three years later, I like it much better. It still is a great match for the music, but her vocals have improved also.

Some of the songs are a little harder than what I generally listen to. But I like it. I can see it being a good one to listen to while getting ready to go out and paint the town. Lots of great energy and attitude.

I don’t recall thinking this last time, but with this record they really remind me of Belly. Especially on the last track, Run. But it’s there throughout. Which is a very good thing.

There’s a sort of dirgy, grungy feel to this record that I like and don’t hear with many bands recently. There’s the repetitive guitar line (and I don’t mean that in a bad way) with Kat’s scratchy vocals rasping over them, solid drums and some fun screaming guitars too. Very nice indeed.

This is a fun party album that I am sure will appeal to many. It’s going in my party rotation for sure.

Posted on January 31, 2008

Track Listing
Listen to track samples while you read
1 I Feel
2 Breakdown
3 Can’t Wait
4 Stay
5 Last Night
6 I’ll Be There
7 Apologize
8 I LoVe U
9 Stacey
10 Everything
11 Forgot
12 Run

[Kat Maxwell Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.