Album Review: Lullaby Appetite by Alexa Wilkinson

Album Name: Lullaby Appetite
Artist: Alexa Wilkinson
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

There’s something very unique and wonderful about Alexa Wilkinson’s voice. It’s got a great lilt to it, but she doesn’t do it too much. She adds just the right amount.

I love the way she matches the lyrics to the music so it seems effortless (but I know it’s not).

Of Graves (which I assume is the single since it has a video) is a great song. Every time I hear it, it makes me stop what I’m doing and take note.

The title song, Lullaby Appetite is also a real standout. I really adore it. The melody is just so feel-good

Sad Eyed Annabelle is almost a dirge but with a pop feel. Yes, I think that’s possible. It’s got almost a backwater emotion.

The production is amazing here as well. The backing vocals are dialed up just enough to enhance but not overpower. We still get to hear her shining voice.

I’m not as big of a fan of her more pop and mainstream-y Good Fight, but it’s still a good song. Heaven Won’t Mind also falls into this category as it reminds me of that Rob Thomas/Santana song whose name escapes me.

Eventual Symphony which closes out the album is a nice soft guitar ballad and it’s a perfect ending to a wonderful listening experience.

I do hope Alexa Wilkinson gets the attention she so deserves.

Posted on August 7, 2007

Track Listing
1. Good Fight
2. Of Graves
3. Lullaby Appetite
4. Waterline
5. Movie Moment
6. Just Gone
7. Interest Of Saving Time
8. Every Inch
9. Heaven Won’t Mind
10. Sad Eyed Annabelle
11. Eventual Symphony

[Alexa Wilkinson Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.