Album Review: Melodic Wand by Mali Woods

Album Name: Melodic Wand
Artist: Mali Woods
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Mali Woods is a native of my home, Minnesota who is now living in Los Angeles.

Though Mali’s music is slightly reminiscent of a few others, this is a pretty unique recording.

Part spoken word, part folk music these tracks are more “pieces” than songs. Each one a little art work offering a different feeling and message to the listener. The use of layered vocalizations (as Ani DiFranco used in “Our Father…”) is very effective.

Mali’s voice reminds me of Jaia Suri at times, as both of these women have an earthy, soulful sound to their voices.

The songs are intelligent, thoughtful, spiritual, political and very well written. Though they could suffice as lovely background music, you will get a whole other feeling if you actually sit down and listen hard to the lyrics and the melodies.

Either way you listen, you’ll get a great reward.

Posted on October 29, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Intro
2. Disappearing Act
3. Side Show
4. Brds Hv Flwn
5. Until Ur Still
6. Stars
7. Morning After
8. Sum Other Country
9. Knuckle Heads
10. La La Land
11. Pyro
12. Roller Coaster
13. Seasons
14. Outro

[Mali Woods Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.