Album Review: Minefiled Tapdance by Ballistic Edna

Album Name: Minefiled Tapdance
Artist: Ballistic Edna
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds
I liked Chicago’s Ballistic Edna before I even put the CD into the player. I don’t know if it’s because of their cool name, CD title, or the artwork or what. But I knew this would be fun, creative music.
Happily, I was right. Sometimes you really can judge a book (or CD in this case) by its cover.

It’s rock, but it’s alt.rock with a little bit of a gothy type feel at times. Fran Giagkou’s echoey vocals sound very cool with the guitars and the driving drum beats.

The style is in the vein of the little known and no longer together, Purr Box; which is one of my favorite Collected Sounds finds. And interestingly enough is also from the Chicago area. The vocals are not similar but the general sound is. These are good party songs.

Smolder is one of the songs that sounds a little gothy and is one of my favorites.
Ballistic Edna are one of those bands that sound really great recorded but you just feel that they would knock your booties off live. I hope I get to see them someday. But for now, the CD will keep me happy, quite.

Posted on February 13, 2005

Track Listing
1. Man Of Many Unmentionables
2. Smoulder
3. Can’t Find An Easy
4. Upholstery
5. Sleep Is A Dream
6. Vacation In Reality
7. Midnight Knock
8. Tomorrow We Shine
9. Breaking Down
10. Charmed And Disarmed
11. Under Cover Of Faith
12. Headaches

[ARTIST Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.