Album Review: Modern Fairytale by Marina V

Album Name: Modern Fairytale
Artist: Marina V
Year/Label: 2008 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I have long adored Marina V’s lovely vocals and beautiful piano playing. So I was excited to get this new release. I am actually in talks with Marina to do a house concert here this year and now having heard this I am doubly, triply excited at that prospect.

Her music, I guess, can be described as Pretty Piano-based Pop. My favorite! The songs are melodic with lots of layers and emotions in both the notes played and the vocals. Every once in awhile I hear a little Tori note in her voice, but with that slight Russian accent I can’t say she sounds like anyone else.

Moonlight Lullaby is achingly beautiful. It is a perfect lullaby.

Wilhelmina is another track I really like. It makes great use of minor keys and will seep into your brain where it will linger for hours after listening. Plus it mentions ghosts. If you want to appeal to me, write about ghosts… or dogs.

Hope is one that has that Hit Song Quality. It’s very catchy and one that will get the listeners attention upon first listen.

Marina V is a class act and I can’t wait until the general public is as aware of this as I am.

Posted on February 14, 2008

Track Listing
Listen to track samples while you read
1 Hope
2 The Strength I Need
3 Sunshine Guaranteed
4 Fool
5 Fate
6 I’ll Stand Up For You
7 Alone
8 Love Me Back
9 Wilhelmina
10 Rain On The Butterfly
11 Babushka
12 Moonlight Lullaby

[Marina V Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.