Album Review: More Songs! by Circe Link

Album Name: More Songs!
Artist: Circe Link
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

According to Circe’s website, her musical career came as sort of a surprise to her. A song created itself in her head one day and it took off from there. I for one am glad it did. I liked this CD immediately upon playing it…from the first note of the first song.

The style is reminiscent of the Squirrel Nut Zippers. It sort of takes you back (in my case to a time before I was born). Her voice is impressive and suits the style very well. It’s pretty, jazzy, strong and sweet.

“Blue Bird Tattoo” is the recordings jumping off point and it gets the listener ready for what’s to come. Though you will probably still be surprised.

The sassy “I Like Knowing You Miss Me” has some fun lyrics and an upbeat tempo.

“Oh Lady” makes me want to dance. It’s a very sexy song. It’s got a neat lo-fi quality to it that makes it special.

“Every Blessing is a Curse in Disguise” is a cool, slow, sultry song that ends the CD nicely.

I’m looking forward to hearing more from Circe Link.

Posted on October 27, 2003

Track Listing
1. Blue Bird Tattoo
2. Call Him a Thief
3. I Like Knowing You Miss Me
4. Like This
5. Mexicali Rose
6. Wisteria
7. Oh Lady!
8. Just One More Time
9. Three Bells
10. Travelin’ Daddy
11. Every Blessing is a Curse in Disguise

[Circe Link Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.