Album Review: My Glass Eye by Beth Thornley

Album Name: My Glass Eye
Artist: Beth Thornley
Year/Label: 2006 / Stiff Hips Music

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Beth Thornley’s second album offers smart and hummable pop with clever lyrics. Opener “Stand” is bright-eyed and snappy in a Juliana Hatfield way.

“Mr Lovely” is rockier and sees Thornley equally at home with such fare.

“Once” sounds bizarrely like a French chanson at first, then develops into poppier stuff. Thornley plays the accordion and sinsg accusing words ever so sweetly.

Joe Jackson’s “Got the Time” gets a cool reading while “Eleanor Rigby” at the end feels less essential.

The bluesy “Birmingham” has a faint resemblance to Bonnie Raitt even if the singer’s very much her own woman.

This is a very accomplished album.

Posted on August 20, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Stand
2. Beautiful Lie
3. Mr. Lovely
4. You’re Right Where
5. Once
6. Double-Wide
7. Home By Now
8. Got The Time
9. Bound
10. My Glass Eye
11. Birmingham
12. Done
13. Eleanor Rigby

[Beth Thornley Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.