Album Review: Neu York by Anthony

Album Name: Neu York
Artist: Anthony
Year/Label: 2004 / Secret Crush Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Anthony Reynolds has a bit of history before making this album. He was in English bands Jack and Jacques and made brilliant, literate pop.

His solo debut is less grand and sweeping than his previous bands, but the songwriting is still great.

“Lush Life” resembles Pet Shop Boys in its synth pop mood. Reynolds arch vocal is still thrilling.

The old grandeur peeks though on “Sad Streets” with its epic tune. Reynolds has an instantly recognizable voice and here it’s at its finest.

“My Machiavellian Girl” is more synth, with a persuasive central riff and ambitious lyrics.

The odd monologue “I sit with the smokers” is delivered by an unidentified lady and grates somewhat.

“2000 Miles (boxing day blues)” is an intimate voice and the barest whisper of guitar. Reynolds whispers like he’s afraid to be overheard. He includes scary words about needing a place to bleed. Yikes.

“neu york” is a little rough around the edges but if you give it time, it delivers.
Posted on July 21, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. I Love My Radio (On)
2. Lush Life
3. The Sad Streets
4. Prelude To…
5. My Machiavellian Girl
6. Good Times
7. Love To Loved
8. Dear Melvyn
9. I Sit With The Smokers
10. There Are No Shadows Anymore
11. If July Were A Kingdom
12. 2000 Miles
13. Dalston Interlude
14. Drugs Are My Drugs

[Anthony Official Site]



Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: Anthony you are GOD!! You made the planets so that you could ROCK them!! All hail the Tony! Now please come home soon. You promised Dad you’d help with the rock garden. Love Mum. ps keep using your Ant-thrushcream!
by: Ma R on Thursday, July 22, 2004

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.