Album Review: Never Trust the Chinese by Mr. Meeble

UPDATE 2010: [get Free track]

Album Name: Never Trust the Chinese
Artist: Mr. Meeble
Year/Label: 2008 / Absolute Motion

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Oh, this is a headphones CD for sure. I first put it on at work and while the counter was ticking away I didn’t hear anything so I turned it up and heard a squeal that I could tell went from one speaker to another.

It’s highly electronic but not exactly ambient. It’s rock, certainly, but it’s moody and atmospheric while still having a sort of heavy feel. I don’t know how else to describe it except to say that this album has a lot of variety to it. Seems like every once in awhile I’d hear a song on shuffle and whether I was thinking ‘This is cool, which one is this?’ or ‘Um what the heck is this noise?’ it was always Mr. Meeble.

There’s the dreamy techno-ish cover of Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head with a little rap thrown in.

Then there’s the super melodic Dragonfly with all it’s bleeps and blips.

And Everything is Good Part 1 in goes all over, I don’t even know, where. While part 2 is quiet and dreamy.

I am partial to the first track, Fine. It’s got a 70s feel to it melodywise, but it’s up to date with it’s instrumentation and layered vocals.

Never Trust the Chinese is an album full of interesting melodies in a strange and different package. A really interesting record. I will be giving it more eartime in the new year.

Track Listing
1 Fine
2 Raindrops
3 Cultivation of the Imagination
4 Dragonfly
5 It All Came to Pass
6 Every Thing Is Good (part 1)
7 A Ton of Bricks
8 I Fell Through
9 Every Thing Is Good (part 2)
10 Until I Grasp the Second
11 100 Pills
12 Forget This Ever Happened

[Mr. Meeble Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.