Album Review: New Arrivals Vol. 1 by Various Artists

Album Name: New Arrivals Vol. 1
Artist: Various Artists
Year/Label: 2006 / Mpress Records

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

MPress Records is the brainchild of Rachael Sage. She’s been putting records out on her own label for many years but this is first indie music compilation. It’s got some fabulous artists on it and it’s for a good cause as 100% of proceeds go toward Hurricane Relief.

Many of these names I knew and even many of the songs I knew. But how cool to have them all in the same place with these new ones.

Favorites for me are Noe Venable’s “Jupiter”. I’ve been a fan for some time now and can’t wait to hear more from her.

Girlyman is also great and their song “Young James Dean” is a true toe-tapper (do people still say that? I mean, people under 70?)

Rich Price’s “Queen B” reminds me of Ben Arthur. Very nice.

I’d heard the name Amy Speace, but had not heard her music. Her contribution, “Not the Heartless Kind” makes me want to check out the rest of her stuff.

Likewise with Michel. “Desireless” is a great track.

Then there’s Rachael’s track, “Featherwoman” which is also on her new release, “The Blistering Sun”. It’s great.

This is a wonderful Indie compliation and if you stick around for the bonus track you’ll hear a great Jill Sobule song as well.

Check it out…what a great way to learn about new artists.

Posted on June 9, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Queen B (Rich Price)
2. Juniper (Noe Venable)
3. Not The Heartless Kind (Amy Speace)
4. Goodness Gracious (Jim Bianco)
5. Hurricane (Ellis)
6. She Falls Away (Andy Mac)
7. Young James Dean (Girlyman)
8. New Pagan Love Song (Paul Brill)
9. Under A Sky (Edie Carey)
10. Boom Bang (Rob Giles)
11. Burning Bridges (Chris Pureka)
12. Change Your Mind (Pharaoh’s Daughter)
13. Desert Heart (Jenny Bruce)
14. I Will (Kym Tuvim)
15. Desireless (Michal)
16. Hard Times (Patti Rothberg)
17. Featherwoman (Rachael Sage)
18. Jet Pack (Jill Sobule)**BONUS TRACK**

[New Arrivals Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.