Album Review: New Warm World by Andi Starr


Album Name: New Warm World
Artist: Andi Starr
Year/Label: 2009 / Independent

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

I’ve reviewed Andi Starr in the past, and always enjoyed her work. Her new record is also a fine piece of work.
This time she’s mostly gone it alone, and she’s good at it. Her warm vocals support the songs well.

Another Day is an example of the hushed, intimate folk sound she does so well.

Rebel Sky has some stunning harmony vocals and a piano melody that’s mellifluous and pretty.

First Love has lightly strummed guitar and a sad lyric about loss. Starr’s vocals recall early Jewel, in a soft moment.

Under the Same Sky is plaintive but hopeful, acknowledging the differences and similarities between us all.
It might sound like an easy thing to have come across, but it’s not.

Starr has a rare gift for bringing out things like this in her music. May she keep making her music for a long time to come.

Track Listing
1. New Warm World
2. Another Day
3. Rebel Sky
4. Go to the Ocean
5. Stardust
6. First Love
7. Sing My Song
8. Crow
9. Under the Same Sky
10. She’s So Sweet
11. Letter From a King
12. Rebel Sky (Night Version)
13. Lavender & Cinnamon

[Andi Starr Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.