Album Review: Of Dreams Forgotten and Fables Untold by The Moon and the Nightspirit

Album Name: Of Dreams Forgotten and Fables Untold
Artist: The Moon and the Nightspirit
Year/Label: 2005 / Equilibrium Music

[Buy at Equilibrium MusicR]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This group consists of Agnes Toth and Mihaly Szabo. Their unusual style harks back to times long gone and legends.

“Egi Taltos” is medieval-sounding and Toth’s violin stands out in the mix of instruments.

“Beloved Enchantress” sees Toth singing sweetly in the vein of Loreena McKennitt to a sophisticated arrangement. The group’s music reminds me of the equally stunning Unto Ashes.

“The Secret Path” has some stunning violin passages and some mythical inspired lyrics.

“Echo of Atlantis” is a piano-led piece that’s simply lovely.

This record is simply great.


Track Listing
1. Égi Táltos
2. Lullaby (The Final Gyre of Suns)
3. Beloved Enchantress
4. The Secret Path
5. In Gardens of Worlds Undreamt
6. Holdanyánk
7. Echo of Atlantis
8. Pagan
9. Of Dreams Forgotten and Fables Untold

[The Moon and the Nightspirit Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *