Album Review: Open by Marja West

Album Name: Open
Artist: Marja West
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Marja West’s music is funky but sensitive. She plays the piano like a goddess and sings like a siren. Her CD is a real treat. She doesn’t shy away from pain or dirty words and as a result her work seems very honest.

“Muse” is a tender plea to such a being for inspiration. West’s vocal swoops and melody makes it seem like it was a successful plea.

The title track is rhythmic and loose. It’s impossible not to sing along with it.

“Gift” is quiet but tense. “Playing in the Cemetary” has some surreal imagery and an inspired tune that echoes Tori Amos.

“Burning Flesh” is a musically engaging song with some great piano-playing.

“Silence” is playful but has a deep lyric.

“Open” is a magnificent album.

Posted on April 2, 2003

Track Listing
1. Dragging Winter
2. Muse
3. River of Light
4. Ignoring the Sirens and the Prophets
5. Are you My Love?
6. Open (…Feed Your Hungry Heart)
7. Gift
8. Musik Box (a piano solo)
9. Playing in the Cemetery
10. Longing
11. Down For Less Than Bliss
12. Think About What’s Right
13. Burning Flesh
14. blood
15. Silence
16. Frozen Blue/Air & Fire
17. Love is Blind
18. True Love Remains The Sam

[Marja West Official Site]



Rating: 5 Stars
Vickee and I love this CD! The music, the words… all completely awesome. Play it LOUD folks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.