Album Review: Playtime by Grisbi

Album Name: Playtime
Artist: Grisbi
Year/Label: 2008 / Elap Music

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Grisbi hail from France and play a chilled electro-pop. They’ve named their new album after a film by Jacques Tati, which is a cool move.

For You sees singer Natasha Penot at her sweetest and the melody is lovely.

Not in Love is a superb melody supported by light beats and Penot resembling Nina Persson.

Day is another pop gem that the band manage almost casually.

The cover of Björk’s Army of Me that first appeared on a compilation cd with others versions of it, is sweet and slow where the original is fast-paced and frantic.

This is a lovely record.

Posted on March 25, 2008

Track Listing

1. Seven Days a Week
2. For You
3. Not In Love
4. Writer’s Block
5. Teenager
6. Day
7. Radio
8. Our Island
9. Shhh…It’s happening Again
10. Army Of Me
11. The Sleepers
12. Fool

[Grisbi Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.