Album Review: Polyhymnia by Jaggery

Album Name: Polyhymnia
Artist: Jaggery
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Not sure what genre Jaggery belongs to. They have a jazz feel to their complex music but don’t play standards or freeform jazz. At times I’m reminded of Elysian Fields dark sensuality.

Singer Mali Sastri has an enchanting voice. “O Scorpio” is fluid and mystical, a perfect entry into the bands world.

“Elfin Arrietty” is delicate and tender, a bit trip hoppy but with added harp by Jesse Sparhawk. Sastri sings in a bird-like fashion too.

“Malachite” is just beautiful, Sastris’ warm vocals and the harp playing off each other well.

Jaggery are special, and they stand out by being themselves. Their debut is one to be cherished.

Posted on February 8, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples

1. O Scorpio
2. Theme
3. Elfin Arrietty
4. Felt
5. Malachite
6. Come
7. Petaluma
8. Lady Grey
9. Song of the Spheres
10. Demigod
11. Spiral Staircase
12. Cavedwellers

[Jaggery Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.