Album Review: Priorities by Zeebee

Album Name: Priorities
Artist: Zeebee
Year/Label: 2006 / Monkey (Broken Silence) / Angelika Koehlermann

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Zeebee is an Austrian electronica artist whose previous album was a delightful exercise in Björk-ish music.

Her second album is just as good. “Zeebee Chase” crosses a big band sound with modern electronic music and sounds entirely natural.

The title song has a touch of New Order’s pop sensibility coupled with Zeebee’s playful vocals.

A madcap remake of jazz standard “A Tisket a Tasket” raises the temperature. The scattergun sounds and crazed attitude are contrasted by a later, less eccentric “Fever”.

Zeebee has a style that’s all her own and even if she has influences she has her own approach to music. This is an album that warrants investigation.

Posted on February 8, 2007

Track Listing
1. Zeebee Case
2. Priority
3. Sweetness
4. A Tisket A Tasket
5. Sticks
6. Sunday Morning
7. Jeff’s Disco
8. Cards And Signs
9. Sunny Friend
10. Fever
11. Cartoonboom
12. Free Now
13. Attempted Suicide

[Zeebee Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.