Album Review: Proscenium by Bora Yoon

Album Name: Proscenium
Artist: Bora Yoon
Year/Label: 2003 / Swirl Productions

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

It’s the clear-voiced Bora Yoon’s second album and what a lovely thing she has made. She writes poetic and aware lyrics and surrounds them with shimmering melodies.

“Nicotine” starts with military drums and continues as a meditation on love as an addiction.

“Molten Lava” is a sparse and haunting ballad.

“Bend or Break” is an acoustic song with a strong lyric. Yoon imbues it with plenty of conviction.

The folksy “Cross the Ocean” is a powerful song with an uplifting feel to it. Yoon resembles Ani DiFranco here.

“No Man’s Land” is a song about war with moving words about the horrors that happen to people.

The hidden title track is a spoken word piece with a great mood. It’s a fine album that’s worth a big audience.

Posted on September 3, 2003

Track Listing
1. All Day Through the Rain
2. Nicotine
3. Molten Lava
4. Poetry vs. Coincidence
5. Bend or Break
6. Cross the Ocean
7. Maintain
8. No Man’s Land
9. Foggy London Town
10. Allargando
11. Prague
12. Proscenium

[Bora Yoon Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.