Album Review: Shadow Puppets by Machine In The Garden

Album Name: Shadow Puppets
Artist: Machine In The Garden
Year/Label: 2005 / Middle Pillar

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Summer Bowman and Roger Fracé make up Machine in the Garden, a gothic duo of great talent. Since their last album “Asphodel” they have clearly developed. Bowman’s singing has grown stronger and the songs enthrall.

“The Inside World” is driven by strong rhythms and ethereal singing.

“Winter Fell” is a heavenly ballad with some stunning singing.

“Suspend” sounds filmic and epic with its sweeping majestic mood. Bowman sings strongly as the song advances, guitars thunder in and add to the majesty.

“Spider’s Bride” is another strong rhythmic and track this time Bowman and Fracé duet.

“Shadow Puppets” is a powerful new record by a talented band.

Posted on June 14, 2005

Track Listing
1. This Silence
2. The Inside World
3. Winter Fell
4. Mantra
5. Suspend
6. More Unto Fire Dreamt
7. Mother
8. Spider’s Bride
9. Illusions In Rain
10. If Ever
11. Goodbye

[Machine In The Garden Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.