Album Review: Simple and Few by Cindy Woolf

Album Name: Simple and Few
Artist: Cindy Woolf
Year/Label: 2005 / MayApple Records

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

At first I thought the music is kind of country but her voice isn’t. But then by the second song it sounds like a perfect match. It might actually be more bluegrass than country, I think.

“Cloudy Head” is really pretty. Probably my favorite on the record.

These songs are heavy on the banjo so if you like that instrument, this is for you. There are a lot of other instruments at work here too, however. Including the washboard and triangle!

Now, I’m personally not a big fan of this genre but these are fun, well written songs that I bet are a blast to see performed live.

Posted on December 29, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Dearest Pearl
2. I Told Them All About You
3. On the Floor of the Sea
4. In the Attic
5. Cloudy Head
6. Nobody’s Wife
7. You Done Me Wrong
8. First Impressions
9. Fun for a Few Days
10. January
11. Simple and Few
12. A Fairy Tale

[Cindy Woolf Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.