Album Review: Single Bullet Theory by Pamela Means

Album Name: Single Bullet Theory
Artist: Pamela Means
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I have the bonus experience in that I just last weekend saw Pamela Means perform live and she knocked my socks off. Not all, but much of that energy is portrayed on the record as well.

I can’t help but compare her to Ani Difranco with her use of the guitar as a percussion instrument and political bent lyrics. However, if you hear a lot of folk rock artists as I do, you’ll see that Pamela Means is pretty unique.

Her stage manner is quietly sweet, then her songs just scream. It’s a really interesting phenomenon. But I’m reviewing the CD, not the performance right? Right.

This is a really fine record. As I said, the songs are hovering in between folk and rock with a bit of a tilt more toward rock.

The melodies are infectious and interesting. Her words are intelligent and well chosen. Fierce yet vulnerable.

As mentioned, her guitar playing is amazing. The other instruments here are fantastic as well. They all blend well together and the production is first rate.

If you like intelligent acoustic rock with a powerful message or two, you owe it to yourself to give this record a spin.

Posted on April 6, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Two Halves
2. Augusta
3. Yours
4. The Devil’s Henchmen
5. Amen
6. Mother’s Day
7. Two Months Old
8. Restless
9. O.D.
10. James Cameron
11. Strange Fruit
12. Atoms

[Pamela Means Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.