Album Review: Smile Down upon us by Smile Down Upon Us

Album Name: Smile Down Upon Us
Artist: Smile Down Upon Us
Year/Label: 2008 / Static Caravan

[Buy at Amazon UK]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Singer moomLooo and band members Keiron and David collaborated over the net and have never met in person. Their calming sound is not affected by this but sounds angelic and sweet.

Child’s Walk is full of child-like wonder and has a celestial lead vocal. It’s not unlike Björk at her most impish.

Two Weeks Last Summer is sweetly played and holds an innocent appeal. Its dreamy meander is underscored by the bands’ skill.

Rayla No Lullaby is a folksy song that justifies its title by being slow and lovely. The surrealistic lyrics work fine too.

They end with a version of Tiny Tim’s calling card Tip Toe Through the Tulips. It’s a charmed and suitably strange little song in their hands too.

If this is what they can do without having met, what wonders will happen if they do?

Track Listing
1. Girl Of A Skin Coloured Blanket No.2
2. Child’s Walk
3. My Body Continents
4. Two Weeks Last Summer
5. The Qookino Farm And Tractor Factory Band
6. Kotoba No Yukue
7. Rayla No Lullaby
8. Ken Ken Pah
9. A Vessel In The Fragrance
10. Child’s Walk Reprise
11. Tip Toe Through The Tulips

[Smile Down Upon Us Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.