Album Review: So I Begin by Rachel VanSlyke

Album Name: So I Begin
Artist: Rachel VanSlyke
Year/Label: 2007 / TSR Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is Rachel Van Slyke’s debut record and it’s a great start to what I am sure will be a long career in music.

She is a great songwriter, these songs are addictive and catchy but not too mainstream or commonplace. I can imagine them being played on the radio but only on cool stations. There’s a complexity here that you don’t find in your average top 40 songs.

Her style reminds me of Marie Frank especially on track 3, ‘Into Me’. Her vocal tone is different, but the manner is similar. Her voice has a very familiar sound. Not so much that I’ve heard it before, but more that it’s comfortable.

Stand out songs for include: Into Me, Open End, Movin’ On…oh heck, I like them all. This is a fantastic record and I hope to hear more from her in the future. I’m pretty sure this will be on my ‘best of’ list.

Posted on December 22, 2007

Track Listing
1. Movin’ On
2. Never Me
3. Into Me
4. In Between
5. Let You Go
6. Won’t Be Back
7. Open End
8. Weightless
9. The One
10. Carry
11. Push It In Line
12. So I Begin
13. You Think You Know
14. Worlds Apart

[Rachel VanSlyke Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.