Album Review: Staros by Nina Hynes

Album Name: Staros
Artist: Nina Hynes
Year/Label: 2002 / Reverb Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell
Nina Hynes’ debut EP “Creation” promised much and now the full-length album is finally here. The Irish singer does not disappoint. She still makes evocative electronic based pop and her voice recalls Björk at times.

The speedy “Mono Prix” is a perfect pop moment that brings welsh band Catatonia to mind. But they never wrote a song this special. Its joyous feel and lovely melody is in a class of its own.

“Universal” has Hynes intoning the words in a Björk-ish way. The song is grandly orchestrated and has a stirring chorus.

The melancholy “Last Song of the 20th Century” describes our mad times in detail. Its poignancy is supported by Hynes’ wide-eyed delivery.

“Dive” is intimate and surging with Hynes sounding like a siren come to bring sailors to their doom.

“Staros” is a charming and varied record that should appeal to most tastes.

Posted on November 12, 2002

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1 Time Flies
2 Mono Prix
3 Universal
4 The Other Side of Now
5 Last Song of the 20th Century
6 Tenderness
7 Shine
8 Swallow
9 Dive
10 Zhivago Blue
11 Now
12 Staros

[Nina Hynes Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.