Album Review: Stones by Vanessa Renee

Album Name: Stones
Artist: Vanessa Renee
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is a beautiful album. I’ve listened to it several times and each time I find something new to like.

Vanessa Renee has a soft, soothing voice and plays piano beautifully. The songs are peaceful, yet powerful with a full range of instruments accompanying the piano and voice.

The CD starts off on a strong note with “Elements”. The piano work is great and the addition of the rest of the band makes this a hit.

Title track “Stones” uses percussion and crescendo very well. It ebbs and flows and sounds more like ocean that rock.

The ends the recording with the lovely “Poem” which is a 15 plus-minute instrumental piece.

This recording is along the lines of Sarah McLachlan, Vienna Teng, Chantal Kreviazuk…

Posted on May 28, 2003

Track Listing
1. Elements
2. Caught
3. I Will Wait
4. WE Believed You
5. Stones
6. Touching God
7. Picturesque
8. Okay
9. Paper Lantern
10. Chaos
11. One to Blame
12. Poem

[Vanessa Renee Official Site]



Rating:5 Stars
Great CD! Very peaceful, yet full of energy. Passionate and powerful. She displays a full range of rifs on the keyboard. Very well done.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.