Album Review: Stories from The City, Stories From The Sea by PJ Harvey

Album Name: Stories from The City, Stories From The Sea
Artist: PJ Harvey
Year/Label: 2000 / Uni/Island

[Buy at Amazon]
Review by JoAnn

I am so psyched to have this new album. Especially after having to wait a whole extra week for it. And unlike many of you lucky ducks out there with mp3’s, I had no prior musical tidbits. I even stopped in the record store on my way to work even though I was already late, just to get my hands on it.

And what a great album! Much in the same style as “Is This Desire?” but with a somewhat harder edge, and back in the trio format of her early days (although a 4th person, Thom Yorke, does appear on 3 songs). And I love how some of her growl-singing and some of those classic PJ wail/scream/moan sounds are back.
I played it twice in a row last night (all I had time for). And I can’t wait to go home and play it again. And again.

Posted on October 1, 2000

Track Listing
1.Big Exit
2. Good Fortune
3. A Place Called Home
4. One Line
5. Beautiful Feeling
6. The Whores Hustle and the Hustlers Whore
7. This Mess We’re In – Featuring Thom Yorke
8. You Said Something
9. Kamikaze
10. This is Love
11. Horses in My Dreams
12. We Float

[PJ Harvey Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.