Album Review: Strange Afternoon by Infinite Bliss

Album Name: Strange Afternoon
Artist: Infinite Bliss
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I wasn’t sure what to make of this record. Firstly, the band does not have an official site, only a MySpace page. Also it came in the form of a CDR (a disc made on a computer as opposed to one professionally pressed/burned). Past history has shown that these are usually not the highest quality either in production or in talent. But that is not the case here. **

Lead singer Kai Sorum has a smooth, groovy voice that glides seemingly effortlessly over the cool tunes.

The songs are interesting and unique though there are hints of other artists I enjoy; I just can’t place my musical finger on who they are. There’s a bit of a 60s psychedelia to the sound. I imagine lava lamps and bead curtains, especially on the title track Strange Afternoon. Cool song.

As I shuffled with this all the other CDs I’m currently reviewing there were many times when I stopped what I was doing to see who the artist was and it was this.

Other stand out songs for me were: “Ask Me to Stay” (probably my favorite), ” Last Eternal Bliss”

** I did learn from a band member that this is only for reviews. If you buy one, it will be the real deal. They are also working on an official web page.

Posted on January 22, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Om Rama Ramakrishna
2. So Beautiful
3. Deep
4. Dear Dad
5. Hello
6. Cymbal Symphony
7. Ask Me to Stay
8. Channel 27
9. Her Love
10. Strange Afternoon
11. You Said Goodbye
12. Waiting
13. Annie
14. Last Eternal Bliss
15. Your Smile

[Infinite Bliss MySpace]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.