Album Review: Stranger Things by Kristin Mainhart

Album Name: Stranger Things
Artist: Kristin Mainhart
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Kristin Mainhart is a husky-voiced singer whose trip-hop stylings should appeal to many. Opener “Chompin” sees her vocal firepower wed to a stomping beat. “Cary Grant” pyas sweet tribute to the actor and resembles Morcheeba musically.

The title track sees Mainhart at her most alluring as the cinematic strains of the song weave on. She reaches an emotional peak here. “Panic” is a restrained ballad that puts the emphasis on the singers vulnerable side. “Tainted Love (a tribute)” pays homage to the Soft Cell version of the Gloria Jones hit. Mainhart nails it.

“Stranger Things” is a fine album.

Posted on April 12, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Chompin
2. Sign Your Name
3. Cary Grant
4. Turn The Other Cheek
5. Pain
6. Stranger Things
7. Panic
8. Gonna Make It
9. Damned
10. Boyfriend
11. Monotonous
12. Clueless Girl
13. Silently Aware
14. Tainted Love ( A Tribute)

[Kristin Mainhart Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.