Album Review: Stratospherical by Black Fortress of Opium

Album Name: Stratospherical
Artist: Black Fortress of Opium
Year/Label: 2012 / Independent

Buy the CD
[Download at Amazon]
[Buy at Bandcamp]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Black Fortress of Opium follows an impressive debut with an equally deft sophomore album. Ajda Snyder is an impassioned frontwoman, then as now.

Afyonkarahisar Battle Cry hails back to the bands’ name, which is from a Turkish town. Brian Viglione from Dresden Dolls plays drums here and on the rest of the album impressively. The song’s anthemic nature recalls Velvet Underground at its finest and adds other influences skillfully.

Fata Morgana is a dreamy song with a gorgeous vocal by Snyder, and a melody to cherish.

Right Around Here is a poppy moment, with an instantly memorable tune. Snyder’s vocals hide a dark tale.

Get the Timing is a soft acoustic husht hat brings out the best in Ajda’s voice.

This album has a variety of styles, and it all works together as an impressively cohesive work.

Track Listing
1 Blood Diamond 4:15
2 Afyonkarahisar Battle Cry 4:58
3 Blind 5:35
4 Fata Morgana 5:14
5 Regret & Rue 5:24
6 Right Around Here 4:53
7 Unraveling 3:05
8 Southern Hymnal 3:06
9 Cherry Blossom 4:14
10 Get The Timing 4:38
11 This Dark Cloud 7:32

[Black Fortress of Opium Official Site]

Bookmark and Share


1 comment for “Album Review: Stratospherical by Black Fortress of Opium

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.