Album Review: Tenderland by Leslie Nuchow

Album Name: Tenderland
Artist: Leslie Nuchow
Year/Label: 2001 / Slam Music

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Singer and activist Leslie Nuchow hardly avoids difficult subjects, she approaches them head on on her album.

Issues such as violence against women are handled with a great deal of pathos by Nuchow. Her flexible voice and modern folk style form a powerful union. At times she recalls Tracy Chapman and anti-folk heroine Ani DiFranco, but Nuchow still has a singular voice.

It’s music to make the listener think and then take action.

Posted on December 2, 2001

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Bruise
2. Better 1/2 of Me
3. Tenderland
4. But Still
5. Savior and the Saved
6. You Killed a Part of Me That Died
7. Something for the Pain
8. Mirror, Mirror…
9. I Don’t Know What Love Is
10. They Framed a Guilty Man
11. Apology
12. Tenderland (hidden track)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.