Album Review: The Adventures of Jodelle by Jodelle

Album Name: The Adventures of Jodelle
Artist: Jodelle
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Probably what grabs me most is the beautiful piano playing. It is at times reminiscent of early Sarah Slean. Someone I will always adore. I am also reminded of an artist called Anny.

I would place Jodelle’s music somewhere in between jazz, pop and cabaret. Well, not cabaret as much as just that it has this theatrical feel. Like I should be seeing this performed live instead of just on record. The record is fabulous. The production is top rate and sounds just lovely. I just think it would be great to see it live too.

The album is visually presented in comic book fashion. The pictures used in the liner notes are a combination of cartoon and photograph and are very fun and kitschy. Apparently, there is a comic book called “The Adventures of Jodelle” from which these pictures come.

Jodelle’s voices is deep and smooth and sounds very nice with the melodies and instrumentation.

The songs are well written with interesting melodies and there’s great use of the crescendo and decrescendo…very important in music in my opinion. This stuff’s emotional.

If you like piano pop-rock with strong vocals and intriguing melodies, I think you’ll like “The Adventures of Jodelle”.

Stand out songs: “Once In A Blue Moon” and “Particle” are my favorites today.

Posted on May 4, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Stick Figure
2. Shrinking Violet
3. Once In A Blue Moon
4. All Save One
5. Messenger
6. Rabbit Cage
7. Happy Song
8. Parachute
9. Damage Done
10. Particle

[Jodelle Official Site]


1 comment for “Album Review: The Adventures of Jodelle by Jodelle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.