Album Review: The Art of Virtue by Adrienne Young & Little Sadie

Album Name: The Art of Virtue
Artist: Adrienne Young & Little Sadie
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Well, I don’t know much about bluegrass music, but I’m pretty sure this is it.

Adrienne Young has a great honky-tonk voice that is perfect here. It hops and twangs just like the music.

The music is all fiddles, banjo, guitars, bass, drums and of course that fabulous voice. When the harmonies are present they are spot on. Perfect sounding.

The tempo makes you want to move. I feel like I’m sitting in a bar or porch down south watching people dance and having a great old time instead of just sitting here at my computer desk.

If you’ve read a lot of my reviews, you know that I like to mention that packing if it blows me away. This one did. It’s beautiful. The CD comes in one of those cardboard fold-out-into-three-parts cases. Inside is a little book called The Thirteen Virtues so you can keep track of your virtues daily. Then there’s the “liner notes” book. Complete with all the lyrics, origins of songs, etc. The package also contained a sticker and a little card with the band info on it. All done in the same beautifully styled artwork that is on the cover. This CD is a great package all around, musically as well as artistic marketing.

Stand out songs: “Hills & Hollers”, “Jump the Broom”, “My Love Will Keep”…ok now I’m starting to name them all. Really they’re all good, these are the ones that really stand out to me.

Posted on September 16, 2005

Track Listing
1. Art Of Virtue
2. Bonaparte’s Retreat / My Love Is In America
3. Hills & Hollers
4. Jump The Broom
5. My Sin Is Pride
6. My Love Will Keep
7. Ella Arkansas
8. Rastus Russell
9. Wedding Ring
10. Don’t Get Weary
11. Golden Ticket
12. Walls Of Jericho
13. It’s All The Same
14. Farther Along / Billy In The Low Ground
15. Brokedown Palace

[Adrienne Young & Little Sadie Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.