Album Review: The Baby That Brought Bad Weather by Greta Gertler

Album Name: The Baby That Brought Bad Weather
Artist: Greta Gertler
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Greta Gertler’s music might be described as orchestral pop. It’s wide screen music that brings a multitude of images to the listener. Her gorgeous voice supports the music fine.

“The Ring” is richly orchestrated and has some stupendous harmonies.

“Damian” has a sad lyric on lost friendship and an inspired string arrangement.

The quirky “Pocketful of Change” uses harmonica and accordion well. Gertler’s impish vocals lends the song a sweet garnish.

“Unless You Say Sorry” is a reflective ballad about a broken relationship.

“Fireworks” closes the album and is a more scaled-down track than the others. It’s no less moving for it. Gertler’s voice takes on a very evocative quality here.

It’s a record that should appeal to anyone who loves great pop music.

Posted on April 30, 2003

Track Listing
1. Everyone Wants to Adore You
2. The Ring
3. Patience
4. It’s Getting Harder
5. Damian
6. Pocketful of Change
7. Mercurial Ways
8. Manhood
9. Cameo
10. Unless You Say Sorry
11. Blues (on the Road)
12. Sit Down Disco
13. –
14. Carried Away

[Greta Gertler Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.