Album Review: The Evening Drag by Torrez

Album Name: The Evening Drag
Artist: Torrez
Year/Label: 2003 / Kimchee records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Torrez’ new album is seductively dark and haunting. The bands sound is not so far from Mazzy Star’s and singer Kim Torres is a siren in the same style as Hope Sandoval.

“After the Carnival” is more than a little spooky. It would make a suitable soundtrack to a classic film noir. Kim Torres” voice is at its most lovely here.

“Forage Your Way” is a quiet song with a sad feel. Kim Torres and Sidney Alexis” guitars work well together.

“Final Fantasy” is a stunning song with a glorious melody and some of Torres’ most heart-rending singing.

“The Evening Sun” uses cello to unusual and inspired effect.

It’s a fantastic album that should give Torrez many new fans.

Posted on February 15, 2003

Track Listing
1. The Girls Will Haunt you
2. After the Carnival
3. There Are Some Places You Should Leave and Never Go
4. Back To
5. Forage Your Way
6. Trembling/Freezing
7. All the Riders
8. A New Despair
9. Final Fantasy
10. The Evening Sun
11. The Flame
12. All on Fire

[Torrez Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.