Album Review: The Girl Who Killed September by Garrison Starr

Album Name: The Girl Who Killed September
Artist: Garrison Starr
Year/Label: 2007 / Media Creature

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’ve been a fan of Garrison’s for some time now. I have seen her perform only once but I loved it. I’ve reviewed both her previous record and have enjoyed them thoroughly.

While this recording is different in tone, it’s equally good. Her previous stuff had a more or Americana feel, this feels more straight up pop to me.

40 Days has some nice rhythmic clapping that adds a nice touch to this very up tempo tune.

Unchangeable is very pop and radio friendly, you’ll find yourself tapping your toes uncontrollably.

This is a really great record that I am sure will be in my personal rotation for quite some time.

Note: I’ve seen about 4 different covers for this album over the last few months. So I have no idea which one is the official. So don’t be looking for it just based on the cover art!

Posted on November 6, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1 Understood
2 40 Days
3 Goldrush
4 Unchangeable
5 Byrhalia Road
6 Stay Home Tonight
7 Little Lonely Girl
8 Fireworks
9 Brightest Star
10 Spectate
11 The Girl That Killed September

[Garrison Starr Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.