Album Review: The Growing Season by Rebecca Martin

Album Name: The Growing Season
Artist: Rebecca Martin
Year/Label: 2008 / Sunnyside

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I knew I’d like this if the cover was any indication of what was inside. The record is filled with luscious well written folky jazz (or is that jazzy folk?) songs. A pleasure among the many albums I am reviewing right now.

Rebecca Martin has a soothing, comfortable vocal style that I could listen to all day.

I like that it’s guitar based, but there are lots of other sounds in there, not least of which is xylophone! Well, it’s likely a keyboard, but it sounds like a xylophone to my untrained ears. It adds a great depth to the tone of the recording.

Lullaby is great. Piano and voice in unison, nice minor keys. Yep, this got me several times. My favorite by far (though all the songs are great).

I also like: The Space in a Song to Think, but again, they’re all great.

Track Listing
1. The Space In A Song To Think
2. A Million Miles
3. Just A Boy
4. To Prove Them Wrong
5. What Feels Like Home
6. Lullaby
7. As For You, Raba
8. After Midnight
9. Make The Days Run Fast
10. Free At Last
11. Pieces
12. Talking
13. You’re Older

[Rebecca Martin Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.