Album Review: The Simply Said Sessions by Jo Davidson

Album Name: The Simply Said Sessions
Artist: Jo Davidson
Year/Label: 2004 / Fragile Tough Girl Records

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

a Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’ve known Jo Davidson by name for awhile since Anna Maria Stjärnell reviewed her debut album, 2001’s “Kiss Me There” but had not heard her music as of yet. This is Davidson’s follow up to that well-received recording and this one is stellar as well.

The CD is a collection of beautiful piano rock, in the vein of Sarah McLachlan, Vienna Teng and other adult contemporary album rock artists (not that she sounds like either one of them, I’m just trying to give you an idea of the style).

The songwriting is superb and is reminiscent of the way Shawn Colvin writes. The melodies are haunting and lovely and will stick with you long after the CD ends (that is if you can resist the urge to just hit repeat all day).

Davidson has a voice that is simply gorgeous and though unique can remind the listener of other artists at times. For example, on “Writing on the Wall”, I was reminded of Lisa Loeb. “Somewhere in Between” recalls Merrie Amsterburg. But as I said, the voice is unique and doesn’t consistently sound like anyone other than Jo Davidson. I also like the lo-fi sound of her vocals on “Misery”. It makes the song seem almost urgent.

The production, overall, is also first rate. They really took time to get every little nuance correct and the result is great.

These songs are familiar and comfortable upon first listen but by the time you’ve listened three of four times, these songs are your best friends. That to me, is the mark of a fantastic songwriter. I will be listening to this CD for years to come, I am sure. I also look forward to more of Jo Davidson in the future.

Stand out songs? All of them. Honestly. There’s not a clinker on this.

Posted on January 15, 2005

Track Listing
1. Glossy Photograph
2. Red Crayon
3. Writing on the Wall
4. Bird in the Sky
5. Somewhere in Between
6. Misery
7. Stop
8. All Around Me
9. Sharon’s Song
10. Let It Hurt
11. Trafalgar Square
12. Ghost Town
13. Always For You
14. Carousel

[Jo Davidson Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.