Album Review: The Sound of Something Breaking by Morgan Grace

Album Name: The Sound of Something Breaking
Artist: Morgan Grace
Year/Label: 2006 / Lady Lush Records

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Wow. This record is filled with punky jumps and starts and lyrics that will have your grandmother blushing.

Morgan Grace’s voice is a blend of sultry and screaming with lots of ‘come hither’. Or maybe I should say ‘come here-go away’. Either way, it matches the music wonderfully.

This is another band that I know would be cool live.

The record gives it a slightly live feel, in that it’s produced sort of lo-fi sounding. The only thing I would change is just to mix it higher (louder) in general. I had this playing on rotation with a bunch of other records and it was much quieter volume-wise than the other things I had in there, even though it is much louder in style. But if you’re listening to it all on it’s own, it will sound just fine, just crank it up. Or better yet, use those headphones!

If you’re looking for something to party to, you’ve found it in Morgan Grace’s latest.

Posted on May 4, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Thin Lizzy
2. Just A Little Crush
3. Your Name
4. The Story of Three Weeks
5. Freshman
6. My Name
7. Makes Me Happy
8. It’s Only You
9. Oh I Want You
10. My Favorite Sin
11. Clean
12. Final Words
13. Do Do Do Do

[Morgan Grace Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.