Album Review: The Summer Storm Journals by Noe Venable

Album Name: The Summer Storm Journals
Artist: Noe Venable
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I first heard of Noe Venable years ago when she was mentioned on a mailing list of which I am a member. The other members were raving about her and I gave her a listen and pretty much fell under her spell as well.

I have loved both her previous releases, Boots and The World is Bound by Secret Knots. Both of which have been reviewed here (see left nav bar for links).

I saw her perform live a few years ago when she opened for Ani DiFranco. I was amazed at how much sound could come from one woman on guitar and vocals and one man on a bass.

Noe’s songs are ones that make it onto almost every mix CD I make and every “Best of” best I make. These are no different.

We begin this record with a lovely a capella song showing that Noe’s voice is perfect without any instrumentation or distortion. But if you’ve heard her live or her previous releases you know that already.

The instrumentation again is minimal but sounds so lush. I don’t know how she does it, but it’s incredibly dreamy and fantastic.

Many times the ambient, dream music isn’t very melodic, but this is different in that way. The melodies are wonderful. Unexpected yet comforting.

I love this record and as of today it’s in my favorites of the year…which is rapidly approaching its end.

I do hope that this release brings her the attention she so deserves.

Posted on December 26, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples while you read
1 Woods Part of When
2 Prayer For Beauty
3 Sea of Possibility
4 Ice Dragons
5 Into the Wild
6 Onion, One Day
7 Swim With Me
8 Flower in Time
9 Sparrow I Will Fly
10 Fangs of Discipline
11 Ambassador
12 Army of Nows
13 Lion Dreams

[Noe Venable Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.