Album Review: The Way it Feels by Roxanne Potvin

Album Name: The Way it Feels
Artist: Roxanne Potvin
Year/Label: 2007 / Ruf Records

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I don’t generally like blues. Approximately once a week I get a CD submission from someone who says, ‘I read your website and I see you don’t like (insert whatever I said I didn’t like: blues, Christian, country), but I think you’ll like me.” Mostly this is not the case. I just don’t care for the genres in general. I like Bonnie Raitt, but I don’t like anyone else doing that even if they sound just like her. I can’t explain it. I just don’t. However, this one is breaking me a little on the blues thing.

“I Want To” is very bluesy, but the lyrics and the style of the song are so appealing I can’t help smiling when I hear it. It even sounds a little rock-a-billy (which I don’t dislike at all).

“Hurting Child” and “Don’t Pay Attention” remind me of Norah Jones and they are both very nice.

“Caught Up” has that 50s sort of swingy thing that I can’t stand. But the melody is so catchy and cool, I am warming to it. I feel like if this very song were done in a different style (genre) I would love it.

Well, I’m not going to go through every song, I’ll just say that I like this way better than I expected to and that’s a nice thing indeed. I think the reason this warmed my cold blues-hating heart is that these songs are just damn well written. They melodies and the lyrics are just impossible to ignore. Oh and it doesn’t hurt that Roxanne Potvin has a great voice that is more than competent in all styles presented.

There are certain aspects of it that I still don’t appreciate like I should, but all in all this is a record that even blues dislikers (haters is just an ugly word) will enjoy.

Posted on May 24, 2007

Track Listing
1. A Love That’s Simple (feat. John Hiatt)
2. I Want To (Do Everything For You)
3. Hurting Child
4. Caught Up
5. La Merveille (feat. Daniel Lanois)
6. While I Wait For You
7. Your Love Keeps Working On Me
8. Say It
9. Don’t Pay Attention
10. Sweet Thoughts Of You
11. Let It Feel The Way It Feels
12. Break Away

[Roxanne Potvin Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.