Album Review: Things Change by Emily Kurn

Album Name: Things Change
Artist: Emily Kurn
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Emily Kurn was a finalist in the 2007 Kerrville New Folk Contest and won 2nd place in the Woody Guthrie Songwriting Contest. So it is clear that she is a talented songwriter. The songs prove that. They are really well written, good folk songs.

She has a slightly shaky voice. It sounds good on the song where she’s sad and she even says she’s crying (Brown Boots, Red Coat) but at first glance, it is a little odd to hear her voice do that on other songs. She hits all the notes, even the high ones, they’re just wobbly. But with further listens this becomes more of an identifier than a distraction.

In fact, this album grows on me more with each listen. It’s very comfortable.

I love The Schmuck. It’s got a cool cabaret sound and is pretty funny.

Not My Key has a lovely guitar part that is reminiscent of Dar Williams.

This is a great record if you’re looking for something folksy, comfortable and clever.

Posted on September 23, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Brown Boots, Red Coat
2. Piano Hands
3. No Way Around It
4. Angeline
5. If I Am American
6. We Built a Mountain
7. The Schmuck
8. Mississippi Moon
9. You Were Drunk
10. Wait for the Roses
11. Not My Key
12. Things Change

[Emily Kurn Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.