Album Review: This Kind of Life by The Mary Dream

Album Name: This Kind of Life
Artist: The Mary Dream
Year/Label: 2010 / SuperUniverse Records

Buy the CD
[Download at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

The Mary Dream is Elise Bellew and Blake Ryan Dayton. They met through a classified ad in San Francisco. They’ve since moved to Nashville. While researching them I came upon a cover shot of their previous record, Beautiful World and thought it looked familiar. Sure enough, [I reviewed it] back in 2006 and loved that one too.

This album is, as you might expect, dreamy. With the slow, gorgeous vocals and an amazingly lush sound being made by two people. I’d describe them as sort of like a Tresspassers William but a touch edgier.

It’s hard for me to pick out favorite tracks, because they’re all great, but I will say that Sing really stands out to me.

This is a great album that I’m sure I’ll be listening to long after this is posted.

Track Listing
01. Deeper
02. Sing
03. This Kind of Life
04. Wrong Every Time
05. Below Zero
06. The Best of Me
07. Home
08. Lighten Up
09. Best Thing
10. Burning Bridges
11. Save You

[The Mary Dream Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

1 comment for “Album Review: This Kind of Life by The Mary Dream

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.