Album Review: Turning Point by Side FX

Album Name: Turning Point
Artist: Side FX
Year/Label: 2010 / Realize Records

[Buy at Amazon]
[Download at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

I’ve reviewed Side Fx’s previous album recently, and am pleased that their new offering is just as good. Kim Cameron’s in fine voice and the band support her well.

Are You Thinking of Me? sees her sounding both vulnerable and tough as the band play a rockin’ backing. Her assertiveness as a frontperson is very sympathetic and easy to hear.

Stories is a soft, yet urgent tune that allows Cameron’s vocals to shine. The guitar parts by Marco Delmar are sensitively played. It’s a neat jazzy tune that appeals greatly.

Rainy Days and Mondays is a Carpenters cover that works really well and shows the band’s playful side. Cameron adopts a kittenish coo that really works for the song.

It’s Not My Time is an atmospheric, slightly mystical song that they do really well.

It’s another great album by Side FX.

Track Listing
1. Timeless
2. Are You Thinking of Me
3. Magic Lands
4. Stories
5. Simple Touch
6. Rainy Days and Mondays
7. Let’s Paint This Town
8. Amazing Dreams
9. It’s Not My Time
10. Broken Heart
11. Contradictions
12. Stories (dance)
13. Are You Thinking of Me (country)

[Side FX Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.