Album Review: Turning Point by Stephanie Wright

Album Name: Turning Point
Artist: Stephanie Wright
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is Stephanie Wright’s second CD. I’ve not heard her first, but I do have one of her songs “Brother John” on my MP3 radio station (now de-funct) and every time I hear it I am reminded of what a cool artist she is.

This CD does not disappoint. Stephanie’s voice is strong, clear, and sultry. The songs are solidly written and performed well. She wrote the songs (all except for one David Bowie cover), plays piano, sings and produced the whole album.

Her voice is unique. It has a little tremolo, and is powerful. It is in the same vein as Martina Sorbara . I happen to love that, but I know there are some folks who don’t go for that kind of voice.

Stand out tracks for me are “Blue Boy” which has a nice piano rhythm and “Fools Gold”.

Her cover of Bowie’s “Ashes to Ashes” is very cool.

“Turning Point” is well put together CD with solid songs, clever lyrics, nice voice and accomplished musicianship.

Posted on May 6, 2003

Track Listing
1. Loving You
2. Farewell, My Friend
3. The Turning Point
4. So It Goes
5. Fool’s Gold
6. Master Plan
7. Blue Boy
8. Step Inside
9. Vacant Heart
10. Ashes to Ashes
11. Faltering Night
12. Somebody Call a Rainbow

[Stephanie Wright Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.