Album Review: Undertow by Corinna Fugate

Album Name: Undertow
Artist: Corinna Fugate
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Corinna Fugate is a talented young pianist and singer. She’s already made quite a few records.

“Undertow” is fuelled by dark, existential thoughts and Fugate’s piano is delicately played. The songs namechecking of Ophelia feels entirely appropriate.

“Dying for you” with its downcast words and Gothic atmosphere is a powerful song.

“Angels Dance and Angels die” is just lovely, a simple melody framing Fugate’s sweet vocal.

“Blood Red Bracelet” is another great song, Fugate managing a serene composition with a fluid melody.

“Undertow” is awash with lovely, haunting songs that mark Fugate as a name to remember.

Posted on April 12, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Undertow
2. Cold
3. Dying for You
4. I Must Be Dreaming
5. Angels Dance and Angels Die
6. Wake
7. Blood Red Bracelet
8. February
9. Winter Garden
10. Stay Right Here
11. Boy of Sky
12. Bells for Heath

[Corinna Fugate Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.