Album Review: Untitled for Now by Audra Kubat

Album Name: Untitled for Now
Artist: Audra Kubat
Year/Label: 2002 / Remedy Records

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Audra Kubat has a gift for writing songs that transport you (or me anyway). These songs take me back to my childhood where the music I heard primarily was Bread, Joan Baez, Joni Mitchell, America and the other late 60s early 70s popular artists. She’s not copying these artists, but certainly tipping her hat to them.

The songs have a lulling dreamy quality to them. She plays guitar using both picking and strumming very well and has a soft but strong lullaby sort of voice.

Stand out songs include “Someone Else” and “Everyone’s Waiting” which sound a bit like Bread (as in David Gates and… not food). “Sleepy” which is indeed a little sleepy, but then it goes into an almost Radiohead jam.

But my hands down favorite is “Michelle”.

This CD is a jem don’t miss out!

Posted on September 8, 2002

Track Listing
1. Someone Else
2. So Real
3. Michelle
4. You Can’t Believe
5. Everyone’s Waiting
6. Listen to the Wind
7. Waves
8. Where is Love
9. Urge to Go
10. Sleepy
11. Everydays a New Day
12. Untitled for Now

[Audra Kubat MySpace Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.