Album Review: Vaudeville 2040 by Jhene Erwin

Album Name: Vaudeville 2040
Artist: Jhene Erwin
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Jhene Erwin’s record is a suggestive affair. She sings in a low voice to a trip-hop setting.

“A feather pillow” sees her sing in a sinuous whisper, sort of like Jill Tracy. The song eventually goes from Portishead trip-hop to more upbeat and poppy.

“Bend” is sinister and sees Erwin use her astounding voice to its fullest.

“Capsized” uses a throbbing beat and Erwin’s distanced vocal to create a strong sound.

“That Kind of Boy” is a tough nightclub song that uses a familiar sample.

“These Thoughts” is a reflective ballad that works well.

“Vaudeville 2040” is a compelling listen.

Posted on August 23, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. The Gathering
2. A Feather Pillow
3. Bend
4. Capsized
5. Wanting More
6. Child Already Knew
7. Interlude
8. That Kind of Boy
9. These Thoughts
10. A Message Inside
11. A Long Good-bye
12. Clean

[Jhene Erwin Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.