Album Review: We are the 80s – Rick Springfield

Album Name: We are the 80s
Artist: Rick Springfield
Year/Label: 2006 / Sony

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Ah dreamy Rick Springfield. Was there a girl in 1981 that could resist his charms? I think not!

I had a friend who was a huge Springfield fan and we had to go to one of his concerts for her 16th birthday. I think I had “Jessie Girl” on a 45 (that’s like a single to you young kids) but other than a casual admiration I was not all that hooked on him. Cute, sure. But I never considered myself a huge fan.

So when I put this record in, I thought I’d know one…maybe two songs. Boy was I wrong! I got to track 10 before a song came on that I didn’t know the lyrics to. I’m embarrassed and proud at the same time.

I think I even did some office chair dancing.

Like the others in this series I have seen the packaging is nice. The liner notes have a nice little story about the artist. It’s all very brightly colored 80s style. I just wish they had included the lyrics.

If all your Rick Springfield songs are still on LP and you no longer own a record player, this is a good find. All the hits (and some lesser known ones) in one place.

Posted on August 29, 2006

Track Listing
1. Jessie’s Girl
2. I’ve Done Everything For You
3. Love Is Alright Tonite
4. Don’t Talk To Strangers
5. What Kind Of Fool Am I?
6. I Get Excited
7. Affair Of The Heart
8. Human Touch
9. Love Somebody
10. Don’t Walk Away
11. Bop ‘Til You Drop
12. State of The Heart
13. Celebrate Youth
14. Rock Of Life

[Rick Springfield Official Site]
His site says on the front page: “Some material may be inappropriate for people who don’t know how to rock” so beware y’all!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.